

Board of Directors Meeting Minutes

Questions or comments? Please contact Ashley Wilson, Clerk of the Board, at 961-8476.

MEETING DATE: Thursday, June 23, 2022

MEMBERS PRESENT

Vicky Collins, Forrest Hite, Sara Bohn, Jerry Boothe, Kristie Williams, Anthony Akers, Jason Buckland, Susan Richardson, Sheila Roop, Melissa Shaw, Cheri Warburton

MEMBERS ABSENT

Joe Young and Sally McCarthy (absent with notice)

AGENDA ACTION ITEMS

May 27, 2022 Meeting Minutes May Financial Statement

CALL TO ORDER

The meeting was called to order by the Board Chair, Vicky Collins at 6:40 pm. Ms. Collins welcomed attendees and roll call was read by Ashley Wilson, Clerk of the Board.

MINUTES**

Board Members received minutes from the May Board meeting. Sara Bohn made a motion to approve the May Board Minutes, which was seconded by Cheri Warburton. (*Unanimously approved*)

GUESTS

Mr. John Ashley

PUBLIC COMMENT

Mr. Ashley addressed the NRVCS Board in the allotted 3 minute time frame. Mr. Ashley reviewed current suicide statistics, his experience with family court and concerns he has with local agencies. Mr. Ashley questioned where NRVCS' funding comes from and raised issues he had with his past Temporary Detention Order.

PROGRAM REPORTS**

<u>Financial and Administrative Support Services</u>: Senior Finance Director, Trish Cox reviewed the May Financial Statement, which board members received in their board packets. The agency's revenue comes in at 91% and expenses are 79%. Jason Buckland moved to accept the May Financial Statement, which was seconded by Forrest Hite. (Unanimously accepted)

FY23 Budget approval: Sara Bohn moved to approve the FY 23 budget, which was seconded by Jerry Boothe. (Unanimously approved)

<u>Human Resources:</u> Chris Taylor, Interim Senior Director, provided updates on the agency's oracle implementation. The implementation date will be pushed back to October. The Agency's turnover report and proposed policy changes will be presented in August.

Quality Assurance/Operations: Leslie Sharp, Senior Director reviewed the 3rd quarter Quality Assurance report, which board members received in their Board Packet.

<u>Clinical Services:</u> Melanie Adkins, Senior Director, provided an update on the one time funding that will assist the Crisis Stabilization Unit. The plans of relocation and extension of services will assist keeping individuals out of the hospitals and provide assistance to our law enforcement partners.



Board of Directors Meeting Minutes

<u>Executive Committee:</u> Ms. Collins reminded Board Members that there will not be a July Board Meeting. With no nominations for Chair and Vice Chair, Mr. Joe Young and Ms. Vicky Collins will serve another year in their respective roles. A new Executive Committee will be approved at the August Board Meeting.

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR'S REPORT: James Pritchett, Executive Director, began his report by thanking the work session provider, Chelsea Hu, and her presentation on the agency's DBT Team. Mr. Pritchett continued by thanking NRVCS staff in general and all that has been accomplished in the last fiscal year. Senior Leadership will be working hard to develop the next agency Strategic Plan, to be presented in the spring of 2023. Mr. Pritchett reviewed upcoming initiatives that will be implanted, to increase support and safety for clients and staff, as well as ongoing leadership sessions that will be offered to staff. With the approval of the FY 23 Budget, Mr. Pritchett and Senior Leadership will be working on a compensation plan to be presented to the Board late fall that will address necessary salary adjustments. Mr. Pritchett finished his report with an update from DBHDS and the new Commissioner's ideas regarding community mental health.

ADJOURNMENT: There being no further business, Ms. Collins asked for a motion to adjourn the meeting at 7:30 pm. Sara Bohn provided the motion, which was seconded by Melissa Shaw. (*Unanimously approved*)

MINUTES APPROVED ON:	Ashley Wilson,	8/25/2022	
	Ashlev Wils	on. Clerk of the Board	

Board Member	Representing	Term Ends	
Sara Bohn	Montgomery County	6/30/2024 (1 st Term)	
Anthony Akers	Pulaski County	6/30/2024 (3 rd Term)	
Melissa Shaw	Floyd County	6/30/2023 (2 nd Term)	
Vicky Collins	City of Radford 6/30/2023 (3 rd Term)		
Jason Buckland	Giles County	6/30/2023 (2 nd Term)	
Sally McCarthy	Pulaski County	Pulaski County 6/30/2023 (2 nd Term)	
Forrest Hite	City of Radford	6/30/2024 (1 st Term)	
Susan Richardson	Montgomery County	6/30/2022 (2 nd Term)	
Sheila Roop	Montgomery County 6/30/2022 (3 rd Term)		
Cheri Warburton	Pulaski County 6/30/2023 (Filling previous seat)		
Jerry Boothe	Floyd County	Floyd County 6/30/2024 (1st Term)	
Joe Young	Montgomery County 6/30/2023 (3 rd Term)		
Kristie Williams	Giles County	6/30/2023 (2 nd Term)	