

Board of Directors Meeting Minutes

Questions or comments? Please contact Ashley Wilson, Clerk of the Board, at 961-8476.

MEETING DATE: Thursday, April 28, 2022

MEMBERS PRESENT

Cheri Warburton, Anthony Akers, Jason Buckland, Melissa Shaw, Vicky Collins, Joe Young, Sally McCarthy, Shelia Roop, Susan Richardson, Kristie Williams.

MEMBERS ABSENT

Forrest Hite, Sara Bohn and Jerry Boothe (absent with notice)

AGENDA ACTION ITEMS

March 24, 2022 Meeting Minutes March Financial Statement

CALL TO ORDER

The meeting was called to order by the Board Chair, Joe Young at 6:30 pm. Mr. Young welcomed attendees and roll call was read by Ashley Wilson, Clerk of the Board.

MINUTES**

Board Members received minutes from the March Board meeting in their Board Packets. Vicky Collins made a motion to approve the March Board Minutes, which was seconded by Jason Buckland. (*Unanimously approved*)

PROGRAM REPORTS**

<u>Financial and Administrative Support Services</u>: Trish Cox, Senior Director, reviewed the March financial statement. Ms. Cox discussed the agency's current vacancies, causing the personnel expenses to be lower than predicted. Even with vacancies, programs such as School Based and Emergency Services continue to over-generate causing a surplus in revenue. Sheila Roop moved to accept the March financial statement, which was seconded by Sally McCarthy. (*Unanimously accepted*)

<u>Reach and Mobile Crisis:</u> James Pritchett provided an update on the agency's Regional Mobile Crisis service and upcoming trainings that will be provided across the region. As this service continues to develop, referrals are increasing from the regional CSBs. Mr. Pritchett discussed the successes in hiring for this service and processes the agency uses to hire outside the catchment area.

Quality Assurance and Operations: Leslie Sharp, Senior Director, provided an update on the agency's facilities and ongoing renovations. Facility updates moving forward will be provided on a quarterly basis. Ms. Sharp continued with an update on the Christiansburg property and the development of space in the Radford Clinic. Upcoming projects include, floor replacement at New Life and addressing issues with the sewage lines at New Horizons.

<u>Executive Committee Report:</u> Joe Young, Board Chair, updated the Executive Committee is finalizing the Executive Directors' final Annual Performance Evaluation, which will be submitted to the Board in May.

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR'S REPORT: James Pritchett, Executive Director, highlighted the work-session provider, the agency's GMB Program, Supervisor Amy Englund and staff. Mr. Pritchett continued with a report that the Draper Mercantile will be sponsoring a 5k for Mental Health and all proceeds will be donated the NRVCS. Mr. Pritchett encouraged participation and will continue to advertise to agency staff and community members. Mr. Pritchett finished his report with an update on the recent visit from DBHDS Commissioner Nelson Smith. Commissioner Smith met with the agency's senior leadership team and discussed his vision to create a strong partnership between the Department and CSBs. Commissioner Smith will be hosting a meeting in Wytheville to address the opioid epidemic and Mr. Pritchett plans to attend.



Board of Directors Meeting Minutes

ADJOURNMENT:

There being no further business, Mr. Young asked for a motion to adjourn the meeting at 7:02 pm. Sally McCarthy provided the motion, which was seconded by Jerry Boothe. (*Unanimously approved*)

MINUTES APPROVED ON:	5/26/2022	Ashley Wilson	
Ashley Wilson, Clerk of the Board			

Board Member	pard Member Representing	
Sara Bohn	Montgomery County	6/30/2024 (1 st Term)
Anthony Akers	Pulaski County	6/30/2024 (3 rd Term)
Melissa Shaw	Floyd County	6/30/2023 (2 nd Term)
Vicky Collins	City of Radford	6/30/2023 (3 rd Term)
Jason Buckland	Giles County	6/30/2023 (2 nd Term)
Sally McCarthy	Pulaski County	6/30/2023 (2 nd Term)
Forrest Hite	City of Radford	6/30/2024 (1st Term)
Susan Richardson	Montgomery County	6/30/2022 (2 nd Term)
Sheila Roop	Montgomery County	6/30/2022 (3 rd Term)
Cheri Warburton	Pulaski County	6/30/2023 (Filling previous seat)
Jerry Boothe	Floyd County	6/30/2024 (1st Term)
Joe Young	Montgomery County	6/30/2023 (3 rd Term)
Kristie Williams	Giles County	6/30/2023 (2 nd Term)