

Board of Directors Meeting Minutes

Questions or comments? Please contact Ashley Wilson, Clerk of the Board, at 961-8476.

MEETING DATE: Thursday, June 27th, 2019

MEMBERS PRESENT

Melissa Shaw, Susan Richardson, Vicky Collins, Mary Biggs, Bob Sisk, Rob Gropman, Shelia Roop, Anthony Akers

MEMBERS ABSENT

Joe Turman (with notice), Joe Young (with notice), Sally McCarthy (with notice), Jason Buckland (with notice), Kristie Williams (with Notice)

AGENDA ACTION ITEMS**

May 2019 Minutes (Approved)
May Financial Report (Approved)

CALL TO ORDER

The meeting was called to order by the Board Chair, Bob Sisk at 6:30pm. Bob Sisk welcomed attendees and roll call was read by Ashley Wilson, Clerk of the Board.

MINUTES**

Board members received minutes from the May Board Meeting Minutes in their Board packets. Mary Biggs moved to approve the minutes, which was seconded by Shelia Roop. (*Unanimously approved*) Rob Gropman abstained from approval as he did not attend May's Board Meeting.

RECOGNITION OF GUESTS

No guests were present.

PUBLIC COMMENT

None

PROGRAM REPORTS**

Financial and Administrative Support Services: Finance Director, Patricia Cox, provided an overview of the May Financial Statement, which Board Members received in their board packets. Ms. Cox explained the revenue and expense figures for the month. She continued by informing that Medicaid Expansion numbers are beginning to trend up. Vicky Collins moved to accept the May financial statement, which was seconded by Rob Gopman. (*Unanimously accepted*)

FY 20 Budget: Ms. Cox provided a swift recap of the FY 2020 budget. Marry Biggs moved to approve the Fiscal Year 2020 NRVCS Budget, which was seconded by Vicky Collins. (*Unanimously approved*)

<u>Community Support Services:</u> Lucy McCandlish, Community Support Services Director provided an update on the Dublin Site opening. The Christiansburg PACT office is set to be licensed in August. Program Service Managers Denise Hall and Shelly Farmer have been appointed to State Workgroups.



Board of Directors Meeting Minutes

<u>Clinical Services:</u> Melanie Adkins, Clinical Services Director informed Board Members of the Agency's response to the Virginia Beach tragedy and the services our team provided including debriefing and general support. She continued by updating around the status of the State hospital bed capacity heading into the July Holiday. Our agency will prepare law enforcement and emergency room partners with expectations.

Human Resources: No report.

Quality & Information Technology: Leslie Sharp, Quality Assurance and Information Technology Director, presented the consumer and stakeholder survey results which were overall positive. The Commissioner is interested in our agency's stakeholder survey and intends to forward to others around the state.

<u>Medical Services:</u> Dr. Circe Cooke, Medical Director provided an update on the collaborative efforts between our agency and the Community Health Center. Clinicians from the Community Health Center attended the agency's 5th Wednesday meeting with plans to return in October.

EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE REPORT: Bob Sisk, Board Chair updated that the Executive Committee met on Tuesday, June 25th. He reported plans to recognize the staff that supported the community of Virginia Beach at the August Board Meeting.

Mr. Sisk presented the slate of officers. The nominating committee reported nominations for Board Chair as Mary Biggs and Vice Chair as Kristie Williams. Hearing no other nominations, Vicky Collins moved to accept the Slate of Officers as presented which was seconded by Rob Gropman. (Unanimously accepted)

Mr. Sisk reviewed the Fiscal Year 2020 calendar of Board Meetings. Mary Biggs moved to approve the Fiscal Year 2020 Board Meeting dates which was seconded by Anthony Akers. (*Unanimously approved*)

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR'S REPORT: James Pritchett, Executive Director began his report by thanking Chip Tarbutton for the evening's work session presentation. Mr. Pritchett echoed Ms. Adkins and Mr. Sisk's thanks to the NRVCS staff that assisted the Virginia Beach community.

Mr. Pritchett provided an update on Step VA and the submission of the regional outpatient plan. He continued with an update on the Crisis Initiative and his position as Regional Lead.

Ms. Adkins and Mr. Pritchett recently met with Judge Williams on the startup of a Behavioral Health Docket to address mental health substance abuse and the DD population.

<u>CLOSED SESSION:</u> It was moved by Rob Gropman and seconded by Mary Biggs and carried, that the New River Valley Community Services Board of Directors enter Closed Session for discussion of the following:

Personnel – Pursuant to Virginia Code 2.2-3711 A(4), for the protection of the privacy of individuals in personal matters not related to public business.

Voting Yes: Melissa Shaw, Susan Richardson, Vicky Collins, Mary Biggs, Bob Sisk, Rob Gropman,

Shelia Roop, Anthony Akers

Voting No: None

INTO CLOSED MEETING at 7:35pm



Board of Directors Meeting Minutes

It was moved by Rob Gropman and seconded by Melissa Shaw and carried, that the New River Valley Community Services Board of Directors return to regular session.

Voting Yes: Melissa Shaw, Susan Richardson, Vicky Collins, Mary Biggs, Bob Sisk, Rob Gropman,

Shelia Roop, Anthony Akers

Voting no: None

OUT OF CLOSED MEETING at 7:55pm.

BOARD MEMBER COMMENTS:

A request was made to make sure the agency mailing list has been updated with all present Board Members and past.

ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business, Mr. Sisk moved to adjourn the meeting at 7:58pm.

MINUTES APPROVED ON: August 22, 2019 Ashley Wilson

Ashley Wilson, Clerk of the Board

Board Member	Representing	Term Ends
Mary Biggs	Montgomery County	6/30/2021 (3rd Term)
Anthony Akers	Pulaski County	6/30/2021 (2 nd Term)
Melissa Shaw	Floyd County	6/30/2020 (1 st Term)
Vicky Collins	City of Radford	6/30/2020 (2 nd Term)
Jason Buckland	Giles County	6/30/2020 (1 st Term)
Sally McCarthy	Pulaski County	6/30/2020 (1 st Term)
Rob Gropman	City of Radford	6/30/2019 (1 st Term)
Susan Richardson	Montgomery County	6/30/2019 (1 st Term)
Sheila Roop	Montgomery County	6/30/2019 (2 nd Term)
Bob Sisk	Pulaski County	6/30/2020 (2 nd Term)
Joe Turman	Floyd County	6/20/2020 (2 nd Term)
Joe Young	Montgomery County	6/20/2020 (2 nd Term)
Kristie Williams	Giles County	6/30/2020 (1 st Term)